Informal enquiries and CV applications for PhD Studentships

M

I've found a studentship I'm interested in. The advert displays a contact name and email address for informal enquiries but for applications the advert asks for a CV to be mailed through the post.

I'd really like to apply but have a question or two I hope someone can help me with.

Is it necessary or would it be better if I make an informal enquiry before posting a CV?

I have a BSc, MSc and five years industrial experience, what would be the best way to present my achievements and skills in a CV for a PhD Studentship? I'm assuming the CV would be different from one written for a job application?

J

A good question and one that I often wondered about when I was applying.

Whilst I think that making an informal inquiry could be extremely helpful, both in terms of showing that you are keen and answering any queries you might have, I don't personally think that you should do it just for the sake of it. In other words, if you can't think of any genuine questions then don't.

Thinking back I made inquiries with some but not all, indeed with the one I actually got I don't believe I made any contact before sending my CV with a covering letter and a few polite questions so I don't think it is a must.

M

Thanks.

It turns out I did have some questions to ask after all

Does anyone have any advice regarding CV applications for a PhD?

I've typed plenty for jobs but these were written to focus on work experience.

I'm wondering if a CV written for a PhD Studentship should focus more on the academic side of things?

P