International PhD student thinking of quitting

P

Hi all,
This is the first time I came across this forum. I hope that you could take some time to give me some advice if possible.

I am a 3 year international student in the English program from Asia. I feel so overwhelmed and now I really question whether I would be able to make it. I feel very depressed and because I couldn't understand many of the work I read, I start to feel desperate and seriously thinking about quitting. I am not sure whether I should try to continue when I don't have that much motivation left any more.

I would appreciate any advice...Thank you very much.

C

Hi there

I'm new to this forum as well, and like you, I'm doing a PhD in Humanities. I'm also an Asian student : )

Regarding this problem, I can tell you that you are not the only one who feels lost and overwhelmed with the work that needs to be done. I feel like that all the time. I also have a family to care for ; my husband and my two kids are here. So many times I have felt like quitting and going back home. But I'm also trying to persevere. I have a scholarship to honour and I intend to do my best with it.

Could you get help with the sources that you don't understand, maybe try to get a fellow post grad to explain the things to you ? I'm sure there will be someone who is willing to help you with your work. I am not perfect either; I got back from a meeting with my Sup on Monday with a piece of work with lots of scribblings on it ! I feel quite daunted but I am determined to rework on my piece and hand it in in a week's time with more improvement. I'm sure you can do that too.

All the best !

L

Hello