is showing too much initiative bad for a phd student?

P

I am a first year PhD student. I asked my advisor if we could send a paper to a leading conference being held next year. This question was presented a couple of times (its time for panel A , then again for Panel B). When I asked him the first time, he did show a bit of interest, but didn;t pursue it. I asked again for Panel B and he was irritated. And told me that it was not a good idea. So I took his advice. During my year end proposal submission, he blindsided me. He said my proposal didn't have sufficient merit and rejected it outright. The year end proposal submission is nothing more than a mere formality, but he claims it is. To top it all, I will not receive a stipend from my school till I clear this mark. He also said that I should have focused on the proposal , instead of thinking about conferences. But during the semester, not once did he ask about my proposal. I am utterly demotivated. I thought showing interest, wanting to present are good, but apparently they are not. Should I keep quiet? Drop the course/advisor?Any suggestion?

B

This might be subject specific but in my subject, it would be unusual for a first year student to present at anything other than a postgrad specific conference, simply because at that stage you are lacking meaningful results and often are still struggling to come to grips with the state of the literature. I have seen enough embarassingly bad presentations by early stage PhD students now to understand why this is the case. Better to mess up in front of your peers than in front of people you need to impress...