Jack of all trades, master of none...

W

Gah, this isn't a moan or anything (even though it starts with the infamous words), but as I write my methodology and gape in dumb stupidity at the over-ambitious nature of my PhD (benefit of hindsight and all that), I've realised something a bit disconcerting. I only hope others can identify. I've used a lot of techniques in my mixed methods research, ranging from descriptive phenomenology to psychometric theory, and, by far, I am not an expert. I don't even have a rock solid 100% understanding of the techniques I've used. Discounting real social life and normal human beings, more in the realm of PhD students: am I normal?
If I ever make it to the viva and D-day, just how much of an expert are they going to expect me to be? Does anybody else feel like this, discounting the geniuses amongst us?

maybe you have that 'I'm making it all up' feeling, too...

could be a confidence thing? One born every minute's on! Was thinking about watching it, but all looks quite stressful, am torn, no pun intended.

W

Eska, don't tell me what's happening - you'll ruin the plot for me! haha It's my version of 24 - only more dramatic and realistic. It's more violent too - some of those women really lose their tempers at their poor husbands! I'm going to go off on one now, but, I'd love to do an interpretive phenomenological study of the pre-natal experiences of families based on different cultures. I think it could prove useful for a variety pregnancy-based health interventions in the NHS... By Jove, this gives me a fantastic idea for a new Off Topics thread...

T