Lack of appreciation = lack of motivation

C

I am afraid I am going to add another depressing message to the list. I got first class degrees for both my BA and Master and I am now doing a PhD. The problem is: throughout all these years my family never had a word of appreciation or support. Phone calls always end with: '...what's the use of it?' My partner is very supportive, but I just get very depressed and demotivated when I think about it as it is a weekly occurence. None of my parents have a degree and this probably explain their attitude, even though... I need a bit of sympathy.

J

have you told them that their continuos comments / enquiries are not helping? i always put my family, parents especially on the right line when they say stuff that is discouraging. i find that most of the time they have no clue about the effect of their comments. so i suggest you tell them - in the kindest way possible whilst being firm enough to make your point. don't simply stop calling them coz they are annoying - i once considered that option and its not worth it.

I

I had to laugh when I read your post, corinne - not at your misery, may I add, but at the image of my own mum that popped into my head. She did her best (in the past) to ask about my work but (even though i tried to explain simply) she soon got very obviously BORED of listening!! She's given up asking and actually glazes over if i volunteer information - can you believe it?!

I don't know which of our folks is worse.

C

Thank you jojo. I did try to tell them - especially my mother, but the effect lasts only for two weeks! However, I agree that I should try to keep these things aside. It's not always easy though. Insomniac, I loved your reply. It sounds very familiar. Perhaps we are relatives?

T