latex question

B

I'm going to be joining you in learning LaTex Satchi. My hubby used it to produce his computer science thesis (pretty essential then for ease of handling the many equations). I'm not a science student any more, but I am still a computer science graduate, and can program, so I might as well have a bash at learning it. I'm not a fan of Word, though I battled with it to produce my PhD thesis.

Hubby has Lamport's book, but uses it at work. So I'm buying my own copy!

M

Hi Satchi, I use Texniccenter to compile my Latex code, I lloked at a few others but liked the operation of this the best. The only slight disadvantage I see of Latex (as opposed to Word) is that it isn't WYSIWIG so you have to compile it to a PDF before you can see what it looks like but I would rather that than spend the night pulling my hair out (I haven't got much as it is) trying to work out why Word insists in moving things or changing things I haven't told it to.
The book I downloaded is "the not so short introduction to Latex" by Tobias Oetiker, you can download it. This gives a good introduction to Latex, for any other problems I get stuck with I just search directly online and generally come up with an answer within a couple of minutes.
As others have said, if you in an engineering/ maths/science field you should see the benefits with equations and the likes , if not for me the formatting consistency still out weighs having to learn how to use some new software.
Give it a go and just shout if I can help with anything
Max

B

Quote From maxipat:

The book I downloaded is "the not so short introduction to Latex" by Tobias Oetiker, you can download it. This gives a good introduction to Latex

Thanks for that link. I'll try that first. Looks like chapter 2 should sort most things out.

S

hi DanB, Bilbobaggins, Nxsfan, Squiggles, GoodBoy, Maxipat, everyone
thank you so much for your replies. I've just come into the lab, I'm getting the latex download now!