Logistic Regression

B

Hi there,

Does anyone know if its OK to perform logistic regression with only one independent variable predicting the dependent variable?

Id be super grateful for any advice.

:-)

A

hullo there!! I'm a bit thick when it comes to statistics but I have a very helpful statistics book in my office which i will check tomorrow and give you an actual answer, thought I'd stop in now and let you know cos I didn't want to leave you hanging!!

E

I'm not an expert, but...what do you mean by "OK" ? Are you able to give any more details about what it is you are modelling the relationship between?

B

Hi both,

Thanks so much for your replies. Im interested in finding out if cognitive function (continuous IV) predicts work status (working / not working)

Thank youuuuu!!!!

W

Hello Buttercup1984, would you like a simple introductory book on logistic regression, Logistic Regression, 2nd Edition? If so PM me your e-mail address and I will send it to you. Oh, and as far as I'm aware, you can use just one independent variable to predict one dependent variable :-)

C

Quote From walminskipeasucker:

Hello Buttercup1984, would you like a simple introductory book on logistic regression, Logistic Regression, 2nd Edition? If so PM me your e-mail address and I will send it to you.

Illegal!

E

Quote From Buttercup1984:

Hi both,

Thanks so much for your replies. Im interested in finding out if cognitive function (continuous IV) predicts work status (working / not working)

Thank youuuuu!!!!

AFAIK, yes you can model this relationship in this way, but the validity of your model depends on a lot of things (sample size and so on). Probably the book that walminskipeas mentioned will cover checking the fit of your model - such things are covered in the book I have, which I would equally offer to send you, only it does not belong to me but to the library. Most of the contents of the book is on Google Books though: