Looking for a translator

P

Basically I have research in France at the archives of the ministry of foreign affairs. My french is quite limited and I am in a limbo because these archives constitute a main part of my research. Do you have any idea of any companies that outsource translators for a few weeks with an economic price? Or do you know much about the book scanner and if such items are allowed in archives?

B

given their rules on photocopies are so strict, I can't see them allowing a scanner. Depending on what documents you need to consult, you might be able to get copies of microfilms - I think they've done quite a lot of the important bound volumes but I don't know what the price is like. Translators are very expensive (I've charged 0.1€ a word and I'm no professional) so I think it would be cheaper and more feasible to pay for crash courses in reading French to improve your own French! Surely you're going to have to read secondary sources in French as well so wouldn't it be worth the time investing in language learning?

R

Hi Phdgirl,

see your problem. I think as well, like bewildered is saying, that official translators are very expensive.

I have learned to read German (I am Dutch)quite well, and I think if you improve your French, you will get the hang of it quite quickly.

More difficult, I think is writing in German / for you French. How were you thinking about going to do that? Are there any rules regarding using translators? I mean does it not have to be you own work?

P

I did a course in academic French designed for people with OK French who needed to consult journals, papers, documents etc in French. You should check out your language dept if you have one or your faculty's training programme. Bonne Chance!

B