Lost

D

Hi there

Newbie to the forum.

Feeling really lost. Just coming up to the end of my first year and have to write my upgrade report. I am finding it really difficult because my data is not fantastic. Essentially I did not have huge lab experience before starting my PhD but worked in a related field. (supervisor took a bit of a punt!). It has taken me all this time to learn a lot of techniques and I have been trying to replicate methods that I will be able to use for my proposed project. I work in a lab with staff that produce a lot of good data and I feel like I am right at the other end of the scale.

I sit at my computer every day thinking that I can tie this together but find myself drifting towards the internet because I can't face trying to make a sow's ear of a silk purse. I know that I should just submit something but all it will show is that I have managed to learn some techniques - my supervisor advised trying to make more of a story of it, but I just keep drawing a blank. I can't even be certain that some of the techniques are OK as one of the other investigators in our department ripped into my work after I gave a talk (however it is well known that he doesn't like my supervisor - doesn't bode well as I am supposed to be collaborating with him)

I am behind on my deadline and I will have to avoid my supervisor when I return to the office next week. She has been really supportive of me but I know that everyone has their limit!

It wasn't supposed to be like this! I was reasonably senior in my post before and I was successful. I really wanted to do this PhD but I feel that I am floundering. I hate feeling like a failure and I will be absolutely honest that it is something that I am not used to. I am really scared about next year. My confidence was fine at the start of the course but it has now disappeared.

I know that I need to pull my socks up but I am so scared that I am going to flunk this :-(

A

Quote From daisyduke:

Hi there