MA in American Studies: UEA or B'ham

P

Hi everyone,

I am a Belgian student who would like to study a MA American Studies in the UK. I applied for the University of East-Anglia, University of Birmingham and University of Leicester.All three have offered me a place, so now I'm in serious doubt about which offer to accept.

The overwhelming amount of rankings and university guides is really confusing to me

Initially, Birmingham was my first choice, since it's located in a big city and seems to have the best overall reputation.The downside is that it seems rather expensive...

UEA is offering me two scholarships, worth 3750£, which is a huge draw for me. But UEA seems like the less reputed university and is located in 'the middle of nowhere', next to a smaller city (I love big cities ) However, it has a good reputation when it comes to American Studies, it looks like a nice university and most people on this forum seem quite positive about UEA.

So, I just would like to hear what you guys would do if you were in my place...

A

I did my Masters at Birmingham - a long time ago.  When I went there it was great.

I can not comment about the other two Universities because I have no experience of them.

If you need to earn money working part time while studying, a big city like Birmingham offers more opportunities.

However, if you would be much better off financially (funded) in one University than the others, that is something you really need to bear in mind.  It's easier to get a good result in your Masters Degree if you are not always worrying about money.

Angelette 8-)

M

I did my first degree at UEA. While I can't comment on the course itself (I didn't do American studies - but I think it's has a very good reputation), I loved my time at UEA and really enjoyed living in/near Norwich. It's a relatively small but friendly city and I remember it as being quite 'studenty' with lots of arty things, gigs etc going on. I can't comment on Leicester or Birmingham.