Masters Distinction for PhD admission?

M

i m studying MSc at the Warwick University, if i study seriously and sacrifice some good time, then i think i can hope distiction. But does it add any additional value while considering PhD applicants at oxford or cambridge university? some suggestions please please!!!

I

Hey :) It definitely does help. But don't expect any kind of guarantee at all. Before I got my Masters distinction, I didn't even get an interview for a PhD. Afterwards, I got two interviews (both of which offered me the PhD), but for some others I didn't get anything at all.
But don't let that discourage you - go for it, as it will help. Good luck! :)

M

Hey i00t2000:
Thanks,

You definately encouraged me to go for it any way. Cheers

S

Of course a distinction looks good

But I think most people on here will tell you that, when it comes to PhDs, the department is more important that the University, so Oxford/Cambridge may not be the best option depending on your field

M

Hi SixKitten,

Thank you for your nice comments.....cheers

V

How you did in your first degree also matters.

P

It can help. I was lucky enough to get a distinction in my MSc too and was admitted directly PhD without an interview. A short discussion to establish that my supervisors' interests were the same as mine, and that was that.

J

It certainly helps, go for it. The MSc is only one year anyways, so, can't you give up one year of "good time" for something you'll be proud all of your life and will help you later on? The distinction, however, is not the only factor when considering admission. I got mine and my current supervisor told me that without work experience he wouldn't have considered me. Another of his students didn't have distinction but managed to get in. And even another student had a distinction but failed to proceed to 2nd year.

M

Message Removed.

V