MPhil or PhD?

S

Hi guys
I just wanted to clear something up. I have reccently been offered a PhD and was told that if you had a first or masters you would be registered for a PhD directly but if you have a 2:1 you will be registered for an MPhil in the first instance and would then upgrade to a PhD. I have a first class degree and will have completed my masters by the time I start my PhD in October so will be registered for the PhD. However I thought that for all PhDs you were registered for an MPhil initially regardless of whether you got a 2:1, first or masters.
Does anyone know what the actual situation is with regards to this?
Thanks

K

Are you in the UK? My understanding of the whole process was that everyone was registered for an MPhil and then upgraded to PhD subject to satisfactory assessment at the end of the first year.

The only exceptions are (i think) for those 1 + 3 studentships that cover a 1 year research methods course and then the 3 years PhD funding (like the ESRC ones).

A

It is usual nowadays that everyone registers as Mphil/PhD in the first instance and undergoes some kind of formal transfer to the PhD route after 12-18 months work. The transfer stage is a useful step on the path to PhD and also, the Mphil/PhD route allows a student to complete the Mphil if they choose not to pursue a PhD (or have the decision made for them). However, institutions do differ in their policies so if this causing you concern, I'd advise clarifying the situation with the postgrad office. Good luck with your research degree.

S

Im in the UK and will be doing my PhD UK.

T

Yep, in a normal 3-year PhD your first 'MPhil' year is backdated as a PhD year after you pass the trasfer report/viva

N