Mres or Msc

L

I was wondering if anybody could help, im going to be taking a masters, but im unsure whether an MRes or an MSc is the best to take a PhD afterwards, or doesn't it matter which one i take?

D

Pick the one you would most enjoy and apply yourself to as this should show through in your marks which is the important thing. I have an MSc but it had a research methods module in it. I don't think this had an impact on my being offered a funded place but I do know the panel looked at my module grades.

K

Hi Laurajane! You do need to be a little bit careful with your selection. If you do an MSc that is part-taught, then you need to make sure that the research component is large enough for it to be accredited for certain funding companies (where you might be applying for PhD funding). The ESRC, for example, will only count the masters as a masters if a certain proportion of it is research-based- or at least that was the case a few years back, it might have changed since then. My MSc was part-taught and part-research (with a 50:50 split), and that was fine, but it is worth checking accreditations out etc. The MRes should be fine in terms of applying for a PhD, but of course you do miss out on some taught modules that might be beneficial. Best, KB

D

Having read KB's post I would add I was awarded funding based on an interview at a University and not through application to an external body.

K