MRes Philosophy Manchester

C

Hi,

I am currently an Undergrad at Liverpool University (BA Philosophy) considering an academic future in Philosophy.

The thing is, I am torn between applying for an MRes at Manchester University (which is a more highly rated Uni) or a straight MA at Liverpool (which although rated lower as a whole, has a much more highly ranked Philosophy Dept. . 8th overall)

Also; Liverpool offer to pay half my tuition fees for a postgrad course!

Should I go for the more creative aspect of an MRes with an extended dissertation and the prospect of an easier career in academia *easier route into a Phd* , or stick to my smaller but more esteemed dept?

L

Both Manchester and Liverpool are very highly regarded unis

I would go for the one with the better philosphy department assuming the courses are comparable

C

Thats exactly my problem, Liverpool has a slightly better dept. with a more exciting variety of research interests (continental philosophy, a world exepert in Indian Philosophy and a national expert in Kierkegaard) whereas Manchester offers an MRes with an easier route into a Phd (however the dept. is not that great and offer modules on ageing, autonomy etc which just frankly seems weird!)

B

I'd go for Liverpool because, at grad level, the quality of your department is way more important than the quality of your instituion - really, working with top academics is what'll give you a head start with a PhD and an academic career. Also, there's no reason why an MRes will be an "easier" or better route to a PhD, in my opinion. You'll get on a PhD with a good MA, with no problem at all.

C

I only posit that an MRes is an 'easier' route because of the element of extended research undertaken of your own accord (20,000 word original research led dissertation, as opposed to the 10,000 word MA dissertation)

B