My first ever paper: I am asked to do revisions

L

Hi guys,

I have no experience in publishing papers and have submitted a first author one (but not sole author) to a mid level journal two months ago. Today I got a reply that peer review has been completed and I need to do revisions. Three people reviewed it and one person especially wants pretty extensive revisions (although no big re-writes). Some of the revisions are still classified as "major" though.

It would be a dream come true for this paper to eventually be published in that particular journal. My question is: if I complete revisions asked, how likely is it for my paper to still be rejected at that stage?

From what I know a paper can be rejected:

1. Editorially (without even being sent to the peer review)
2. Just straight out rejected after the peer review
3. Rejected after the revisions

I am hope that it is a good sign that I have passed first 2 steps??

S

Papers can go back and forth and you could still be asked to do more revisions even after this lot. I've had to make major revisions even after I had done everything the reviewers asked for. And as you say, it could still get rejected. Still, in my limited experience, if they've asked you for revisions, that's a very good sign - they wouldn't bother if they didn't think your paper was suitable. So, press on, get them done, and expect to see your name in print!

R

Hi Lostinoz, Sue,

I've had a few papers published. My experience is that it is a very good sign that you have gone through peer review and it has not been rejected. I think that is most likely that is will be published, if you manage to convince the editor and the reviewers that your paper is of an appropriate standard and relevant to the readers. Obviously the key point is how to do that.