National Insurance contributions?

C

I'm in the 2nd year of my NERC funded PhD and it's just occurred to me that I haven't paid any national insurance contributions since starting. I little background, I graduated in 2000 after a 4 year degree, then worked (paying NI) for 10 years, starting my PhD in 2010. What are the implications of not paying NI for the 3-4 years of my PhD?

Thanks.

S

PhD Stipend is not taxable so you don't pay tax or NI on it

http://www.postgraduateforum.com/threadViewer.aspx?TID=4406

hope that helps.

C

======= Date Modified 19 Apr 2011 14:42:15 =======
Indeed, I know I don't have to pay any NI. I'm wondering about the implications of not paying. Doesn't the state pension and/or job seekers allowance depend in part on NI contributions?

D

I do know it can have an impact on state pension. Basically, you have to work or pay N.I contributions for so many years (do check but I think in the region of 30+ years) in order to get a state pension.

B

You can get a state pension with NI credits for fewer years, but your pension will be reduced.

If you are in your early 20s I would not worry too much about missing some NI years. But if you are an older PhD student I would recommend considering paying voluntary contributions to make up the shortfall. You can pay these later when you are earning. You are allowed to pay voluntary contributions for so many years back in time.

B

Oh and re benefits, I fell into a benefits trap because of being (originally, many years ago) a full-time PhD student who then fell seriously ill. I couldn't claim incapacity benefit (the obvious benefit) because I had no NI credits from my PhD years. Even voluntary contributions wouldn't have been enough. Only NI credits from employment counted. So I was benefit-less. And because my husband was still a PhD student we were ineligible for lots of other benefits. Mucho poverty ensued until hubby passed his PhD viva and started working.

D

BilboBaggins,