Negative attitudes from other researchers?

S

Hi! I'm in my first year of my PhD and I've been reading posts here for quite awhile, but I'm now delurking to ask some advice.

I was wondering if anyone here had experienced a negative attitude from other researchers at their uni, due to clashes between your supervisor and these other researchers? If so, how did you deal with this?

V

Hi somethingborrowed! Welcome to the forum- that sounds like quite a specific problem, is it something you've experienced and are trying to resolve? I think it would be easier for people to offer advice if they knew a little bit more about it....hope its not something that is ruining your PhD experience..

S

Sorry, I should have explained a bit more.

I recently had my first year assessment, and one of the members of the panel really ripped into my work and was very negative about the whole thing. He doesn't get on with my supervisor, and I've since talked to the postdoc in my lab group who said it sounds like he was taking out his frustration at my supervisor on me. I'm spoken to my supervisor about it, and he was very helpful about it, but I can't help but worry about having to go through this next year with the same panel. Everyone says just to shrug it off and ignore it if it happens again next year, but I guess I'm quite a thin-skinned person and take (unfair) criticism quite to heart.

I guess I was just wondering if anyone else had experienced this sort of thing, and how they reacted and dealt with it.

V