Nervousness About Revise and Resubmit

E

I'd love to hear someone's opinion on this, if at all possible? Finishing up revisions as part of a Revise and Resubmit and I asked for some clarification on some really vague instructions - but the external refused to clarify further. So far, the whole process has been a nightmare from start to finish and my supervisors have been less than supportive, so I'm well aware that I have a propensity to catastrophise (I suppose it's the notion that no-one's got my back so I have to prepare for the worst) but does that seem... unusual? Or is that fairly typical? In my paranoid brain, it means that the external has already decided not to pass the thesis but, like I say, I'm well aware that I have a tendency to think the worst. Anyone have any experience with this? Thanks for any and all responses.

L

Hi, I'm afraid I have no first hand knowledge of the situation as I haven't yet submitted but there must be someone you can talk to at your university about it? Do you have a Research Registry Unit or a support unit you can talk to? Is there no way you can ask your supervisors what they think?

I wouldn't jump to any conclusions as far as the outcome goes, they can't have made their minds up without even having viewed your revisions, surely? I do feel for you though, I'm really not looking forward to the whole submission thing and I have a horrible feeling next year is going to slide by before I know it...!

P

Hi Elimeo,

I'm nearly half way through the revise and resubmit process (resubmission deadline end of summer 2012), in similar circumstances (supervisors and nightmare process) and increasingly thinking about outcomes following this process.