new PhD stident with a family

L

Sorry to barge in..........

Can you claim 'child tax credits' if you are on a studentship and have young children?

S

Long - alas no you can't as you are not paying tax.

P

I'm in a similar situation - 3 kids, and I'm doing it part time. (And I'm 38!) I did my degree part time 10 years ago and was obsessive, so my family are ready for the pain. I'm (fairly) undaunted by the prospect of all the work, really because I was under no illusion it would be easy. Part time and family, something WILL give. It's better to know beforehand what that is..

P

anyone from Warwick Business School or Warwick University, can you describe your experience overall?? thanks a lot..

B

I think there is an additional factor that PhD mums often don't factor in- what you do after your PhD.

Academia is notoriously bad for work life balance, and to be a top academic today is almost incompatible with a normal family life, (hell its hard enough to satisfy an adult partner, let alone give you time to raise children properly). Couple that with the lack of security as a post-doc and the need to relocate at the drop of a hat, I would ask very serious questions before anyone took that route.

This is a good paper that discusses some of these issues (if you can get it).
http://eric.ed.gov/ERICWebPortal/custom/portlets/recordDetails/detailmini.jsp?_nfpb=true&_&ERICExtSearch_SearchValue_0=ED296632&ERICExtSearch_SearchType_0=no&accno=ED296632

J