New Phd student

L

Dear all

First i would to say happy new year for all, and wishing you a nice and lucky year.

I am a new phd student and will start in January 2014 in uk, after two weeks I have first meeting with my supervisor and I am a little bet worried, can you give me your advise and experiences?

I

Quote From Layan:
Dear all

First i would to say happy new year for all, and wishing you a nice and lucky year.

I am a new phd student and will start in January 2014 in uk, after two weeks I have first meeting with my supervisor and I am a little bet worried, can you give me your advise and experiences?

Happy New Year to you too and congrats on being a PhD student!!

The first meeting with your supervisor is absolutely nothing to be worried about. In my case, I had already read a lot about my supervisor (his biography, works, publications, books, etc…) and so I knew exactly how he thinks and where he stands on issues. Make sure you do some background research on him/her and the publications. That's the first advice.

The second advice would be to go into the meeting not expecting it to be a viva but just a chat- in my case I remember I met him in his office and we ended up chatting for 2.5 hours about all sorts of things, not just my research. If you talk about other things besides your research you develop your relationship with him/her so it's not just about work: trust me, this has paid off significantly in my case as he really liked me and supported me whenever I needed references, signatures on forms to ask for extensions, leave to work away, etc…

Finally, when it comes to discussing your work, always listen more than talk!!! If you talk too much and dominate the chat many supervisors wouldn't like that. Just listen to him/her chat and then intercede briefly to ask a question or make a comment on your proposal, methodology, research plan, etc…