No Job 5 months after graduating.

B

I have been reading these forums for a long time even though it kinda hurts. I am in the same boat as many here in that I have a PHD (performing arts) that was conferred late 2013. I have been unable to find stable work since then despite applying for everything I can
All the jobs here (Australia) go to people with 10yrs of experience or some internal candidate. I couldnt pillage my PhD for articles becsuse of ethical constraints and I got only sporadic tutoring work throughout my study. I honestly dont know what to do anymore and am in a very dark place. I have been unemployed since february and lining up for welfare with my phd in my back pocket is humiliating in the extreeme. Honestly dont k ow what to do.

P

Quote From BTD:
I have been reading these forums for a long time even though it kinda hurts. I am in the same boat as many here in that I have a PHD (performing arts) that was conferred late 2013. I have been unable to find stable work since then despite applying for everything I can
All the jobs here (Australia) go to people with 10yrs of experience or some internal candidate. I couldnt pillage my PhD for articles becsuse of ethical constraints and I got only sporadic tutoring work throughout my study. I honestly dont know what to do anymore and am in a very dark place. I have been unemployed since february and lining up for welfare with my phd in my back pocket is humiliating in the extreeme. Honestly dont k ow what to do.

Aw BTD, I feel your pain. I'm still looking for work too, and I finished 11 months ago. Some entry level jobs have some pretty high reqirements, pretty much short of asking us to eradicate world hunger/poverty, initiate world peace, perform open heart surgery by the age of three using nothing but a ball point pen, and have a reference from the queen...and even then it goes to an already chosen internal candidate. Annoying is not the word.