no. of words-worried

S

I'm finally back to writing which I was supposed to be doing from Sep but had so many things happening in my life that it became impossible to sit down and begin the writing. Now I'm back to it, (although not so much time is going into that as I hoped) the no of word keep me bit anxious. I'm planning a 6-7 chapter thesis in social sciences and the word limit is 80,000 max. Currently, I have abt 11,000 in a lit review and the second chapter which I'm writing now looks like its going to be around the same amount. So, acc. to my maths I will end up with a 60,000 thesis,:-( which worries me, or maybe I shouldn't. Please share your thoughts and experience on this-anyone who known how others have written or if you at the end stages of writing?:$

B

======= Date Modified 01 Jan 2009 20:39:08 =======
I'd be hesitant about worrrying too much about word count until you've written far more chapters. Even then there's time to fix things. I'm a humanities student, aiming at a 7 chapter thesis, and I think I'm going to come in at just over 70,000 words. 80,000 is my minimum. I can see how I can fix that, and will seek advice from my supervisors. Basically though I need to get to the end of that full draft before worrying unduly. Even then the shortfall can be fixed.

But don't be too alarmed after two chapters. After two chapters I thought I'd come vastly short. Some later chapters were much longer and the shortfall has turned out to be much less. I've now written chapters 1-6 (though all need to be rewritten to an extent) and am now tackling the conclusions chapter 7.

S

:-) Thanks Bilbobaggins! I think I just went to a panic mode and alarm bells started ringing in my ear. After few hours hammering on with the writing I think I'm much more calmer. It seemed that I could not write even 4-5 pages a day which was the aim when I started. So I better get a good night sleep and start over tomorrow as it will probably help to clear my worries and anxieties.