Nonprofit Governance and Management

M

I am currently undertaking a Ph D in Nonprofit Governance and Management in Ireland. I work full-time in the charity sector and hope to complete my thesis over four years. I am currently halfway through the second year, have completed my draft literature review and currently conceptualising a model of governance. My problem is firstly, I seem to have hit a 'wall' (frustration at difficulties of balancing study, work etc.) and am having difficulty getting over it. Secondly, my limited understanding of research methods is a bit scary and thirdly, there are very few Ph D students that I know of following the same subject. I would like to liaise with anyone doing similar research in the UK, and also would welcome any advice from any quarter on processes etc. Many thanks.
Murt. :-(

J

Hello Murt!

Wow, we are in an exact same boat. I am also a second year student in management and working full-time. I was also working in non-profit, American NGO and was also conducting my thesis in non-profit governance. However, I just got a funding from ministry and must change my thesis topic to somewhat healthcare related. Well, what can I do! I need the money, cannot really afford to pay for the research.

Anyway, please hang in there! Your hard work will pay off. My strategy is to study at night after work and weekend. I am also very weak in research method. Please don't panic, we will learn along the way. Take care!

C

Hi Murt.

I sympathise with FT work / PT phd - me too.  Its a case of managing your own expectations, be realistic,  set yourself time scales or goals but don't beat yourself up when life comes at you. I get up early do some work before work.. then come home and pretend i'm still at work for a couple of hours before switching off.  So its an extended working day.  

If you're doing qualitative research you can't go far wrong with starting to read Denzin and Lincoln's tome - the sage handbook of qualitative research.