Not sure where to start

D

I really want to do a PhD - perhaps consider me slightly mad.  I have a couple of questions about applications if somebody could give me some advice please.

1. If you don't get an interview for a particular PhD, but a really keen on a particular department and their research, how would it be to apply for further Phd's there in the future?

2.  I have an idea for a PhD, going further from my undergrad dissertation, there is no research currently in this particular area, or very limited research. I hope to do it at a certain university because I don't have an option to move house.  I have found a professor at the university by looking at research interests etc on the internet - I no longer live near the university where I did the initial research. Is it possible or wise to send an email to the person questioning them whether they would be interested in trying to get funding to do the project?  SHould I attach my CV as well or just send a background in the email?

Sorry that I am waffling, hoping someone with a bit more experience could help me.

Thanks in advance:-)

H

1. Yes that is fine

2. Yes by all means send him an email. That's how most contact is made. mention your research interest and how you'd be interested in him supervising the project, attach your CV for his consideration too, and see what he says. He may already have funding or may be interested in getting you funding.

Good luck! :)

C