Organisation skills and the ability to 'GET ON WITH IT'

S

Hi Everyone,

I'm having a bit of a low point at the moment in my PhD - I'm losing confidence day by day and im not sure how to stop this. One of the main issues i think is how my supervisor sees me and my work. Although everyone else seems to think i work enough and do a lot, she has expressed concerns about my organisation skills and ability to 'get on with it'.

In an attempt to make things better i would like to become more organised in my work (i am a science PhD student). Are there any tips anyone can offer for being more organised?

I have already set up an outlook calender linked with her where i note down what i do in the day and i seem to be constanting making lists and mindmaps of work to do but was wondering if there was anything else which could spur me on and hopefully prove to her i can 'get on with it'?

Thanks for your help,
Lorna xxx

D

"I have already set up an outlook calender linked with her where I note down what I do in the day"

Did she ask you to do that?

S

Dr Jeckyll,

She suggested filling in an outlook calender instead of a lab-book (as my experiments are very physiology based i dont really use a lab book in the same way as, say, a geneticist - instead i have my calender where i write important notes and i have a notebook i carry with me always to jot things down). I suggested we share a calender so she could imeadietly know what i was doing that day if she wanted to.

Lorna xxx

D

Just keep doing your experiments like you do and keep detailed notes. I am disorganised too, but somehow I manage. You can't imagine the look of my supervisor when I let him know of all the things that went wrong on my fieldwork. Somewhere between pitty (how can DrJeckyll possibly be that stupid) and rage (will I get fired if I punch a student in the face?).