Part-time PhD plus full-time lectureship

H

Hi All,

Advice much needed please! I am currently a full time Senior Lecturer in English at a UK university and have modest publishing success in my field. When I got my lectureship, a good few years ago now, it was not deemed particularly necessary for me to have a PhD as I had experience and publications in the area. However, it is becoming clear that the ethos is changing in my Faculty and it has been put to me that I should 'go through the motions and do one'! My teaching would feed into my research area and my Institutions has agreed to fund me and provide teaching/marking relief, so I realise i'm fortunate. But the idea of trying to complete a PhD part-time, whilst teaching, whilst being a Mother etc, etc, is terrifying - although I also realise that if I don't go ahead, it will be held against me by my line managers in the future. Any help, advice would be appreciated. Advice much needed please! I am
currently a full time Senior Lecturer in English at a UK university and have
modest publishing success in my field. When I got my lectureship, a good few
years ago now, it was not deemed particulary neccessary for me to have a PhD as
I had experience and publications in the area. However, it is becoming clear
that the ethos is changin in my Faculty and it has been put to me that I should
'go through the motions and do one'! My teaching would feed into my research
area and my Institutions has agreed to fund me and provide teaching/marking
relief, so I realise i'm fortunate. But the idea of trying to complete a phD
part-time, whilst teaching, whilst being a Mother etc, etc, is terrifying -
although I also realise that if I don't go ahead, it will be held against me by
my line managers in the future. Any help, advice would be appreciated.
Advice much needed please! I am
currently a full time Senior Lecturer in English at a UK university and have
modest publishing success in my field. When I got my lectureship, a good few