PHd admissions requirements...

M

I'm currently in the process of completing a masters in European Politics at Surrey, and have been thinking about going on to do a PHd. Having talked to my supervisor and some of the other faculty in the department, they've recommended that I should make an attempt at a PHd. Although Surrey is an option, and those that I've talked to have given me a positive response, there isn't that that much research going on in the area that I'm interested at Surrey (trade unions). I'm also worried about my grades. For undergrad I completed a BSc in Business Adminstration and Management at Boston University (US) and got a 2.78/4.00 (however the grades for my political science minor was 3.30/4.00). Clearly, I was studying in the wrong field. At Surrey I am more probably than not going to graduate with a merit (probably at around 65% +). I was wondering, how likely is it for me to find placement and what range of universities should I aim for? Thanks.

H

Find a project you like the look of, irrespective of where it is (unless you have a particular fondness for a certain neck of the woods), with someone in charge who isn't a complete doofus. Then tot up the grant income (if apppicable), potential extra earnings, etc against where you are going to live.
You now have a happy little formula to help you decide where you are going to have a crack at that Good Ol' Barrel 'o Laughs, the PhD!
Enjoy

M

Oh, is that it?! Well then, I'm set!

I'm just a bit worried about my lack of distinction worthy grades.

T