PhD and Sleeping disorders

N

Hi guys
this is my first time on this forum, although i'm a regular visitor. Does the PhD cause you sleeping disorders ??? I no longer enjoy anything even when I'm not doing work my mind is always engaged in the PhD, thinking of data, variables, statistics, methods, going back to literature.....ect. I suddenly find myself just going to write anything that crosses on my mind, or read something I remembered, check an article. My partner is annoyed. Simply she can't understand the pressure of PhD..PhD is a more a mental process than long hours of working in my opinion..it leaves you with bad social life...what do you thin or am i exaggarating ? is what I am passing through normal..I'm now in my second year.

S

It's common but I wouldn't say it's normal - I think you are experiencing an extremem form. You should try to find time to do something else apart from the PhD - something you can actually enjoy and engage in. I know you will feel frustrated and guilty at first but it good for you - and for your relationship.

S

Hmm - thinking about this. I swing from one extreme to the other in cycles. Obsessive - every minute thinking/scribbling whatever, then apathetic, demotivated and disinterested (feeling more like that just now!).

S

The key is distraction- I find it particularly bad at night - waking up in the early hours with my brain trying to process something

My way out is to put the simpsons on

anything to stop my brain thinkin

It depends what stage you are at - I'm in the last few weeks of writing up and it feels like you can't get away from it - constantly thinking about it - key point is to know that it'll end at some point

try taking a break

P.s. your partner and friends will never understand - only others who have done it will - the sad facts i'm afraid

W