phd application dilemmas...

B

Hi all, have been lurking for a while now, and finally decided to come out with my own question!
I'm in a bit of a confused state right now, and would love some advice/reassuring words. I graduated with a first in 2006, and since then have done an MA and an MSc, with a distinction in both. Along the way I had so much encouragement to apply for a phd, as I was 'good funding material', but even though I find the potential subject fascinating, I always felt that I wanted to do something more practical (it would be in humanities).
So I ventured out into the 'real world' and so far am feeling pretty disillusioned - I'm missing being able to research my own area of interest and having to work for someone else rather than myself. I also really miss the subject itself - I don't think its a case of just not knowing what else to do! It's only been six months, but I'm starting to wonder if my decision to leave academia, which I was so sure about until a few months ago, was the right one.
Now I feel so rushed to make a decision and take some action - I've been thinking about it since November, but for some reason haven't been able to motivate myself to sit down and write a proposal, although I did contact a few places. I've missed most of the funding deadlines, and all of them unless I really rush things now, and I know the most sensible thing to do is wait a year, but I feel under such pressure to do something about it now. To complicate things further, my partner is studying in Manchester for the next 2 years (I'm working in London), and it seems more sensible to get on with it now and be students at the same time, possibly even the same place.