PhD in another subject from Undergrad. degree

D

Hi,

I graduated last year with a 4 year undergrad. MPhys in Physics and Astrophysics. I have been working in a graduate job for around nine months as a scientist, which is quite engineering based, and certainly not what i did at University. I really enjoy my job but it is increasingly clear to me that I would like to a PhD before too long (I'm 23).

I'm thinking maybe to start in late 2010, I'm not desperate to leave my job and it's a great opportunity to learn more. Anyway - down to business!

I was wondering what experience people have - if any - of doing a PhD in a subject outside of their undergrad masters/bachelors. Although I would enjoy an Astro. PhD I think it may be rewarding to do something slightly different. I realise i couldn't do one in history or anything that different. But could I get on a engineering course? Mechanical Engineering maybe or aeronautical? Is there anything to be said for teaching myself some new stuff (engineering textbooks etc)? I can't really afford to go through another undergrad. to retrain properly as it were.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Has anybody made this sort of move?

Thanks

Dan

:-)

N

I haven't got any experience of this myself, but have you thought about doing a Masters in a field more relevant to what you want to do a PhD in first? That should give you a good background of what you will be researching, as well as prepare you for PhD study. I'm in social sciences and I know its very difficult to get supervision for a PhD without a relevant masters, might be different for physics/engineering though.

B

Yes a Masters is a good way to go. My husband's first degree was Physics and Astronomy with Astrophysics. He took a Computer Science Masters, and went on to a Computer Science PhD.

H