PhD Supervisor cancels meeting before big presentation - doesn't review my work

K

Hi,

I've just about had it with my supervisor. I have a big PhD presentation coming up to show what I have done so far (I am in my first year of the PhD). I organised a meeting with him on Thursday, but he couldn't meet then. He said we would have it the following morning. I arrive in nice and early to prepare for the meeting (questions to ask, my sample presentation, to ask how he felt about an earlier paper I handed in went etc). Called into his office at scheduled time. No answer. Came back 10 mins later - no answer. Came back every 30 minute until 2pm - still no answer!! I finally find him and he tells me he's sorry about missing the meeting, he was busy. We would reschedule for later that afternoon. Called in again at scheduled time - NO ANSWER AGAIN!! After waiting around my desk until at least 5pm on Friday he finally grants me the courtesy of telling me he hasn't got time to meet me that day and we would meet Monday instead. Monday comes - I still cannot get hold of him!!!!

I just feel so frustrated. I have never once got any feedback on any of my papers which have been handed up. I have a big presentation to do this week and I don't even know if my sup is happy with what I'm presenting.

What do I do? I need some respect from him!

Any suggestions

P.S. apologies for the rant!

A

Hi Kitten

Rant justified in my opinion.