PhD Third years, a call to arms.

H

Thanks for starting this thread, Liminalplace! I'm in my third year too and utterly sick of the whole damn thing. Confidence, morale, motivation and general feelings of ability at an all time low. BUT, I've got my trusty month-by-month plan and I'm going to stick at it. I love reading this forum and seeing that everyone goes through the same ups and downs and (usually) pulls through.

P

Hello!

I'm a fellow third year person, and my funding finishes in Sept 09, so I'm kind of in the same boat! I've been worried about the lack of time and simply feeling like screaming! The prospect of 9 months to go is a very scary thought indeed! Personally, I really did not think I would get this far at all (what with upgrade nightmares!).

My supervisors have given me strict deadlines to be able to collect everything by- so I'm feeling the pressure in getting things into them. I have till March to carry out a few more focus groups (eeeek!) then from March onwards basically write the thesis. I guess these deadlines are good in a way as it enables me to focus on small tasks rather than getting all stressed and worried about everything!

I too have the same thoughts about wanting to produce a good thesis, not something that is a half arsed attempt- but knowing my picky supervisors, there's no way they would let me submit something that wasn't going to pass. On my white board, I have a numbered list of the months left to go as well as a cut off point where everything has to be completed (ie end of March). This seems to be keeping me motivated. I've haven't as of yet, but I've been advised to look at compeleted theses just to get an idea of what the overall picture will look like. Right now, I'm struggling to see what my remaining chapters will look like!