Potential PhD viva failure???

M

I am a part-time PhD student and have a viva due 17 November 2013. I am not happy with my thesis. I submitted it because my supervisor urged me "to just get it in to buy you more time". However, yesterday my supervisor told me that the circumstances under which I submitted will not be mentioned to the examiners pre-viva, but my viva will be conducted on the merits of my thesis only.

I have had a shoulder problem for the past couple of years, and after two unsuccessful hospital procedures had surgery a couple of weeks AFTER I handed my thesis in. Since I really do want an opportunity to rewrite and resubmit, should I insist that these circumstances are mentioned to the examiners or is my supervisor correct in saying that this is irrelevant (= potential viva failure)?

W

Maybe your supervisor thinks you could get a better outcome than you think, e.g majoy or minor corrections instead or R&R and that if you tell them beforehand that there have been problems it will bias the examiners towards a negative mindeset on the day and would more likely get you a negative result?. TBH I would also think that examiners may think 'so what' as s many peple have issues along the way in their PhD?

Good luck, I hope it goes better than you expect.

How are medical circumstances irrelevant? Whilst you were having these problems, did you not suspend studies if only to give your health a chance to recover and give yourself more time to have a decent go at your thesis?

Ian (Mackem_Beefy)

W

sorry, Of course you are right Ian, I read the surgery as after submission

M

Thanks for replying!