Pralyzed PhD Student

D

Hello all,

This is my first thread here. I am a PhD student since Jan 2011, and I have made almost no progress, and have published no paper so far. My subject is a bit complicated, and my supervisor is not guiding me what to do, and how to handle the problems. I heard it is usual for a PhD student to have difficulties, but for me I am paralyzed, and I can do or think of anything except how can I finish my PhD degree. I rarely talk to anyone even my family, and I am very depressed.

Any advice?

Thanks

Hi David,

I'm so sorry to hear you are feeling low :( I think that many of the PhD students (including me) can empathise with you on the depressed feelings a PhD can bring out. Are there any support services, such as counselling, at your uni? It sounds like you really need to talk to someone face to face to help you through this dificult time.

D

Thank you so much for replying. There is a service, and I am going tomorrow to take an appointment. What exaggerates the problem is that I am not an outgoing and sociable person, so I can not go out and have some fun or have a proper long enough conversation. I am mentally and emotionally exhausted. I mean, these day, I do not feel good to talk to anyone, but even if I want to in some very short peak time, I simply can not.

Y