Problems with PhD

N

Hello everyone,

So here is the story. Last year i finished my master's degree, and got accepted for a PhD with a Marie Curie studentship in order to study bioinformatics. The studentship was actually awarded to a private research institute and when they posted the studentship i got it.

So i have a number of problems,

i am here for almost a year now, and since i joined this centre, i never got any true training, no lectures, i am not even registered with a university [because the institute itself does not award PhDs]. When i first came here, they told me what project were they working on and they gave me this set of data to work on. They also pointed a bioinformatician within the institute and then they said do the analysis. Notice that i was just a biologist with no experience in bioinformatics whatsoever. Is that how a PhD should be? Shouldn't there be a guidance, some formal training? All i did, i did it all by myself by clinging onto this bioinformatician guy until he is fed up and help me.

The other problem is the financial. I am pretty aware of the fact that a Marie Curie studentship is a very prestigious one. Because of the economical crisis of the country, i never receive my salary on time, it's been a year and i always receive my salary half at the beginning of the month and the rest at the end of the month. The thing is that i know that the funding comes on time but i never receive it on time, plus they spend zero for my education, which is supposed to be included in the studentship [e.g i am still waiting for a good PC to work on and still working on my laptop]. Should i make a deal out of it?

I am in the verge of quitting the whole thing! The worst part? My supervisor hates me, he thinks i do not work enough!

Any advice will be appreciated =)

N.

B