Proofread a thesis

P

Hi All,

I have completed the second draft of my thesis!  My supervisors said that the thesis is good, but needs a really good proof read. I cannot afford a professional proof reader so I have to do it by myself.  My problem is that I am not good at proof reading! When I read, I often insert words which are not there and change the order of words in my head.  I don't just do this to my own work, but to everything I read. hmmmm.... So my questions are:

Does anyone have any tips on how to proof read accurately? 

I have been told to read out loud and also to read backwards (1 sentence at a time). Has any tried these tips?

Cheers,
Potatoes

D

I always read my stuff out loud and it works for me but I suspect my neighbour thinks I'm nuts!!!

C

Ditto the above. The only way I could proofread my own work was out loud.

A

Good luck :) DO you have a kind mother/sister/brother/partner/friend who can read your thesis? I give mine to my (very patient) mum, who has not a clue about my research but she can see if things make sense, the flow of the sentence, missing words (and many extra commas in my case). Perhaps if you only give them a chapter each they will not be so overwhelmed. I personally find it extremely hard to proofread my own work. BDW well done on the 'good thesis' remark from your supervisors.

P

======= Date Modified 19 Mar 2012 08:04:16 =======
Thanks for the feedback. I am going to try reading it out loud. I had thought about getting a friend to do it. But I really need to learn how to proof read my own work for the future. Also, my family live in the other side of the world and are not computer literate....

Cheers, I will report how it goes.

Potatoes