Psychology... what to do?!

H

Hi
First time I've been on the forum, so first of all hi :-)

Basically I graduated in 2008 with a 1st in Psychology and just about completed an MSc in research methods. Currently I'm working as a research assistant in a high secure psychiatric hospital.

I'm in a bit of a dilemma regarding where to go next. I've always fancied the idea of a PhD and get on pretty well with research in the sense I enjoy doing it and tend to get the job done however the prospect of hunting for a PhD is daunting me slightly. Prior to seriously considering a PhD I imagined myself going down the clinical psychology path, but the more I think about a PhD the more it appeals to me and the job prospects after completion.

I'd just like some advice really about the PhD process. I think I'm just a bit bamboozled about the application process and where to start!

Thanks
Heather

K