Publishing before or after submitting the thesis?

M

Hi I was just wondering if some of you have published or plan to publish before you submit the thesis? If so how did/do you go about it? Do you write your chapters first and then write another shorter version for a paper based on the chapter or do you write the papers first and then extend them into chapters? Or do most people publish after they've submitted the thesis?

At the start of my PhD my supervisor talked about how it'd be good to publish before I finish the PhD, but I'm in my 4th year now and there's still no plan of it actually happening. I am not sure if I should try to publish or just focus on getting the thesis done and submit it. I guess it depends on how much time I'd need to produce the papers?

W

Hello Montezuma. If I were you I would definitely publish before you submit your PhD. If you want to do a post-doc, already having publications increases your chances of being successful. Plus, it can be argued that publishing papers is a part of the PhD process, and it will certainly help you in the viva as it'll indicate that your research is of a publishable standard.

R

Hi Montezuma,

depends on what you want. If you think the results of your research are publishable I would do that. Be aware that this can be a long process. Also be aware that research data go out of date quite quickly, hence waiting to get the PhD first, then submitting etc. may not be that fruitful.

If you you want to get through the whole PhD process as quickly as possible, perhaps better to focus on the thesis only.

I think both approaches can be justified, although personally I prefer to try and publish at least some of my work.

S

Hi Montezuma