Publishing in Journals...any experiences to share?

I

I've just sent my first paper off to an academic journal (humanities) with a view to trying to get it published. I'm a second-year doctoral student, and was wondering what the likelihood of it getting accepted/rejected/subject to revisions etc might be? Has anyone else managed to get published while a PhD student, and if so was it straightforward/difficult?

B

I was published twice during my part-time PhD, both times single author (I was a history student). One paper (in the more eminent journal) was accepted outright with no changes, the other was accepted subject to small revisions.

To be honest, based on my experiences with journals since completing the PhD, I think I was very lucky to have such an easy time of it. It's extremely common for journals to reject papers outright. It's also very common for the reviewers to have big issues with them (sometimes down to personal politics/biases), and even if you're offered a revision opportunity then for it to be rejected afterwards.

The most important thing is to keep trying. If a paper is rejected, either outright initially, or after a revision attempt, then learn from the reviewers' comments, rework it appropriately, and submit it to another journal. This is a lot easier / less time consuming than abandoning the paper completely and starting work on another one.

You also need to develop a really thick skin with journal submissions. Reviewers' comments can be tough to take. Alcohol might help with the first read through! I find it helpful to turn their requested revisions into a summarised to-do list that I can then work from. This also makes it easier to send in a document detailing the key changes with any revised version: makes things easier for the editor too, and the reviewers rereading it.