Publishing while unemployed

N

I am a postdoc out of job currently in the UK (though looking actively - ah, there we go again...). My field is sciences. I have had several research ideas since last few years, but never managed to pursue them because you know how they make postdocs work like donkeys... you never get time of your own. I also tried to obtain my own funding, but not much luck there.

Because I have some spare time now, I think I should do that research in my own time and get it published. Does anyone know how easy/difficult this is?

How do I access the journal articles? They cost a fortune if you want to buy them. In fact, how do you do a proper literature search without access to those indexing services (e.g. ISI WoK), which only universities seem to have access to. Do journals accept papers if you submit them in private capacity (with your home address)?

If anyone is familiar with this, I would really appreciate any help. Thanks! :-)

B

I'm going to be in a similar position. I recently completed my part-time PhD, but can't use it for work, or do any work at all due to severely disabling illness. So any future publishing I'm doing is going to be as an independent researcher, and I'm shortly to lose my uni library access.

I've signed up for an OU course next year to give me access to electronic journals then. Which is good. But it is difficult to get access to them if you're not affiliated to a uni as staff or student.

I'd appreciate hearing any good (legal!) workarounds too.

In the meantime I'm working to get two more journal papers out the door before I lose that library access. Well will see what I can do.

B

Forgot to address the home address / journals publishing issue. In my field (humanities) I've seen quite a lot of journal articles from independent researchers, so for me it shouldn't be a problem. I'd hope it would work the same in the science field.

B