Quit Phd during first year?

S

Hi everyone,
I usually don't like to bother others for advice, but this time i really feel like someone with more insight than me could help.

I did my undergrad and masters in theoretical physics in the same city where I was born and raised (I am a EU citizen). After 5 years I got completely fed up with the field I was working on and felt like it was time to work on something else. Following my master thesis advisor's advice, I applied for many EE/CS PhD programmes in USA and UK, including top tier institutions like MIT, Stanford, Berkeley, Princeton, CMU and others. Surprisingly enough, I got accepted in one of said institutions, (I am not, by any means a stellar student, nor my GRE test scores were particularly good, so I wasn't even hoping of getting accepted to be honest).
After the initial shock, I accepted the offer and moved overseas. Having worked in a different field, I have asked a professor, whose research I was interested in, for advice. He told me that the courses I wanted to take were really bad choices, especially if I wanted to train for quals, and told me to take completely different courses.
This first quarter was a nightmare, for the first time I really struggled through every course, I was never really interested in the material, either it seemed trivial or really boring, but by the time I realized that, I couldn't switch classes. In the end I managed to end the quarter with a 3.6 average, and it was incredibly stressful.

Now comes the worst part: I horribly fail the quals, and I just hate the coursework again.
In addition to this I really struggle to find a faculty member who could be a potential advisor (yeah, I don't have an advisor), since they are either working on topics which I don't really feel suited for and also don't feel particularly interested in.