Recently started my PhD and completely lost

A

Hello, my friends!

I have been reading quite a lot on this forum and huge thank you to all for their input. I have also decided to share my story as well.

I have recently started my PhD in the department of business administration but I feel so lost. I started my PhD 4 months ago and I have the "attestation" in one month where I have to prepare a presentation about the progress of my PhD research results, possible problems, and future plans. The problem is I don't really know what my topic of PhD is. I do have a general idea and I read quite a lot about that topic but nothing seems to add up. I haven't found any research gaps so far and do not have any specific research questions and I'm getting very worried... My supervisor (I only have 1) is a great guy but I do not get too much support from him. He sort of lets me "do my own thing" which I am not good at as I need more guidance and supervision. I am also his first PhD student and he is also sort of "learning the ropes" of how supervising works. I do help him with teaching and other university-related things as much as I can though but I feel like I'm very behind on my thesis work.
I have to write some sort of research plan and present it to my supervisor and the attestation committee as well very soon.

Has anyone been in this situation before? Does anyone have any advice on how to deal with this situation? Any help would be appreciated as I am super nervous about this whole PhD thing and the attestation committee as well.

Sorry for spreading negative vibes :(

P

I don't understand how you don't know what your topic is; just to clarify, did you apply to a pre-proposed project or did you propose you of your own?