Research and having a life

W

I'm not sure how to get what I'm about to say across without sounding like a total whack-job. I'm in my third year now, as I've probably said before, and I'm going to have to work harder than ever to get it done - thanks complicated mixed methods! The thing is, though, I'm wondering whether it's all going to be worth it in the end? I'm not going to have a life for this year - I'm going to be an absolute slave to my work and do whatever is necessary. This means it's going to be more lonely than ever and involve just getting up, working, going to bed.
If I do well and pass, expectations from others, for future work will be high - assuming I ever get a post-doc. The problem is that I don't want to finish my PhD and have to face it, in the same way, all over again - the monk-like isolation, stress of deadlines, writing, thinking, writing, revising... Contrary to popular belief, I'm really not a jibbering weirdo and I want to do everything that normal humans do, like get drunk, meet new friends, have relationships, settle down. I miss that most with doing a PhD, and it's made me more acutely aware of this need than ever before.
If doing research means that I have to forfeit all these things, then sack it, I'm not doing research. So my question is, does research, if you are to be successful, really suck up your life that much? Honestly, I'm 28, and before this PhD used to get asked for ID when buying beer. Now, I don't. So, I don't want to succeed in academia if I can't succeed in other areas of life, like normal people. Obviously, I'm not implying that academics are all strange people - but some are:$
All my friends are settled down and very happy, buying houses, getting married and so forth. My sister has two adorable little girls and my big brother has one. And then there's me, drowning in a stack of papers in a dingy little room. In my more existential moments, I think: "Shit, is this going to make you happy?"