Research seminars ?

C

Hi guys, I wonder if any of us have taken part in the research seminars held by the Department/ School ? To be honest, I haven't taken part in any, mainly because I live one hour away from uni and also because I basically spend my time doing research at home.

I've taken part in Postgrad Conferences but I don't think I have the confidence for the weekly research seminar. And besides, I'm still struggling to organise my work. I've got 11 months left actually to finish. (I'm a Humanities student.) Can anyone share their views on the departmental research seminar ? Thanks.

E

Hi

I'm in the same position as I don't live near my university and tend to work largely from home. I'm also considering taking part in my first departmental research seminar; I've not until now taken part due to lack of confidence and wondering whether it was worth doing because I haven't completed fieldwork yet. Talking to others in the department who have participated however, I am led to believe that its actually a really good way to organise your thinking whether at an early or later stage of your PhD, and even if you don't feel particularly organised, its usually a fairly informal setting where people are most likely interested in hearing about your topic area, and may in fact help organise your thought process by offering insight and suggestions of how to enhance your research. With this in mind, I'm thinking of leading a seminar now, mostly because it might help me reiterate or refocus my research direction, and because I've been told its not nearly as scary as you think with most participants at ,or round about the same stage as yourself. Plus if you've taken part in larger postgrad conferences, the seminar series might not be as bad as you think; being usually smaller and informal in nature. Good luck!

H

Hi charliebrown. Do you know what you want to do after your PhD is finished? Would you like to carry on in academia?

C