Research topic: Marketing-Psychology ?

M

Hi all,

I've graduated in Business Management/ Marketing a year ago and currently I am a Psychology student (undergrad). The reason why I took up Psychology is that what I have learned at Faculty of Business seemed too out of real life for me, I wanted to add some "human touch" to my education with psychology. I really enjoy fields of Cognitive, but especially Social Psychology and I'm very much interested in works of Amos Tversky, Daniel Kahneman, Dan Ariely and others. COnsumer decision making and persuasion are of my special interest.

I want to become a PhD student at my former faculty, department of Marketing, and would like to hear some advice from you guys on what the research topic could be. I do not know much about current research topics in this field, what is "in" and what is "out", also I don't want to start a research just to dicover that all my questions have been answered before. I just feel kind of lost, my prospective research advisor wants to hear what topic I want to focus on and there are just so many to choose from!

So any idea of yours would be appreciated and warmly welcomed!

Thank you,

Mike (Masaryk University, Czech Rep.)

S

Quote From mdurinik:

I do not know much about current research topics in this field

Then find out by reading the literature within your field. You may want to narrow the literature down by following what you find interesting and then just keep on reading.

The whole point of a PhD is that you do independent research.

P