sharing work

S

Hello,

I'm a social sciences masters student and by internet searching have found a 3rd year PhD student in another country who is working on a very similar project to my planned Masters thesis. Is it acceptable for me to contact this person and ask to see their thesis, both as a way to ensure I'm not duplicating their work, and because it would be a useful source for my own research? Or would they think I was trying to steal their ideas? As this person has not yet completed or published their work, I'm wondering if it would be poor etiquette to ask them for this.

Thanks for your opinions.

S

Hey Sally

I don't think that it is significant whether or not you are duplicating their work. Not to be rude, but yours is only a Masters diss it does not necessarily have to be an original text (in fact some unis positively discourage this); and yours will be 20% of the length of theirs. It may be better to ask if they have any conference papers that you might access, although you cannot cite unpublished manuscripts without their express permission

P

I think there is no problem with contacting the person and asking for details of their work, although I would not ask for the whole thesis/work whilst the person is still writing up. It is probably worth finding out whether they have already published something (it might be in the "accepted" or "proof reading" stage and the person might be happy for you to have a copy of the paper and in turn you can properly reference their work). Alternatively, you can always tell the person what you are working on and ask them whether there is some overlap with their work? Good luck.

S

Thanks for the advice sleepyhead, I will ask about the conference papers.