Should I change my PhD advisor?

E

======= Date Modified 18 08 2010 17:08:26 =======
I have just started my 3rd year of a health informatics PhD studentship and am concerned at the low level of support from my supervisor. He has graduated many PhD students, so perhaps I am just unlucky. I have asked to change to a different project as the one he encouraged me to do is too complicated I think for a PhD. I wasn't sure at first as I've never done a PhD, but this project sounds much more complex than any other of the PhD students I know and I have been held up for nearly a year trying to access a component I need for the research. I am a librarian and we are taught how to help students focus their project. It's ironic that mine has turned into a mess.

My advisor has replied to my e-mails only sporadically for the past few months (we both live remotely from the university). I am afraid it will make me look really bad if I change advisors. I am also unsure that there is anyone else at my university who would be suitable.

I am planning to e-mail him and let him know I need more and better communication from him, but am worried I will offend him. Health informatics is a small field and I would also need to be careful about criticizing him to others.

Any tips?

B