Should I change supervisor?

L

Dear mates,
I'm a part-time PhD student in a UK university. My experience is very depressing, probably not as bad as some that I've read here, but still a nightmare for me. My current supervisor is not an expert in my field, she has no knowledge at all of what I'm investigating (despite the faculty regulation stating that supervisors should be actively working in the research field of research students), and she's not particularly good in research methods and design. Last year she didn't provide me with good supervision, and as a result I failed my upgrade. Her excuse was that she was too busy to carefully read my research proposal, and for the same reason one of her students failed his viva. In addition, although the regulation requires the appointment of two supervisors, she discouraged me to find another one. Her feedback is all but useful, she often accuses me of not including certain aspects in my drafts although she didn't tell me what has to be included. For instance (but I've got hundreds of these) the most common comment I read is: "I'm surprised you didn't include a background section in your research proposal" but she never told me what in general goes into a research proposal, not even the basics. I don't if I'm wrong, but I believe I should expect this type of help from a supervisor, otherwise what are they for? On the top of this, she's quite rude to me. Last time I had a supervision, e finally got a second supervisor, she started alleging that I'm refusing the support from the supervisor and that I create fuzz. This is not true, after the upgrade I feel discouraged because I don't see anything useful in submitting my work to her again, and it's been five months that I don't meet her. Now I'm doing the fieldwork, and it's not easy to collect all the data, some people are not available for interviews and there are not written sources for some of the aspects I wanted to cover. I believe that I should downsize my thesis, an