Silly Question! Does your PhD have an introduction?

D

======= Date Modified 25 24 2010 11:24:15 =======
Hey,

I'm just wondering whether I should add an introduction to my PhD?

My literature review has been done in stand alone chapters and so I have no section of text that describes the structure and format of the thesis. Have you done a separate introduction in yours?

It seems a fairly obvious addition, but I'm a little concerned I haven't considered it before (want to submit in the summer!!) :$

Also - What is the difference between a preface and an introduction?!

L

I am only starting this PHd journey so don't know if my view counts!

I am an English student so I dont know if its relevant to your research area but I think I will have an introduction. I'm thinking on having it based on a short story is not one of my main texts but opens up my research area, its main issues, and how I hopefully aim to show how narrative can give new insight into sociological debates (roughly something like this).

But I guess people in scientific fields will probably go for methodology breakdowns etc etc.

L

I am only starting this PHd journey so don't know if my view counts!

I am an English student so I dont know if its relevant to your research area but I think I will have an introduction. I'm thinking on having it based on a short story is not one of my main texts but opens up my research area, its main issues, and how I hopefully aim to show how narrative can give new insight into sociological debates (roughly something like this).

But I guess people in scientific fields will probably go for methodology breakdowns etc etc.

T

Mine certainly does, but I agree it could depend on subject.