slightly confused and a little bit miffed

S

Hello! I'm writing for a bit of advice about something. Recently I got an email from a new PhD student in our department who is doing pretty much the same topic as me. We've got a new high-flying academic in our department who is an expert in the general area I'm doing my research in. This student is one of his new supervisees. I have met him before and he knows about my work as he attended a presentation I gave (he even said he couldn't comment much because he didn't know enough about the topic!). I guess my first question is: does anyone think it's unusual for a new student to be looking at the exact same topic as me, in the same dept? The second thing is, I looked at his profile and noticed that he is planning to start a research group in my area, based around the work of his PhD students, which he will be disseminating. I felt a bit put out if I'm honest that my supervisors hadn't told me about this, and I haven't been asked to be involved in any way, given that before I was the only PhD student in the department doing work in this area. I'm not sure if I'm just being a bit sensitive about the whole thing. So my second question is, should I contact this academic and ask if I can be involved in the new research group in some way, or would this seem a bit forward? Any advice gratefully received!

B